Wednesday, January 16, 2019
menu click
Implementation and Standards

The Wisconsin Prescribed Fire Council recognizes two sets of standards for prescribed fire implementation:

National Wildfire Coordinating Group (NWCG)

The National Wildfire Coordinating Group (NWCG) is considered the national authority in wildfire standards and implemntation. The participating groups include the "US Forest Service, Bureau of Land Management (BLM), National Park Service (NPS), Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA), Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS), State forestry agencies through the National Association of State Foresters. The purpose of NWCG is to coordinate programs of the participating wildfire management agencies so as to avoid wasteful duplication and to provide a means of constructively working together. Its goal is to provide more effective execution of each agency’s fire management program. The group provides a formalized system to agree upon standards of training, equipment, qualifications, and other operational functions."

Wisconsin Prescribed Fire Council Standards

For organizations and individuals not following the course of training for the NWCG, the following documents (in PDF) set forth standards for prescribed fire best practice as established by the Wisconsin Prescribed Fire Council:

  • Download Participation Classifications (117 KB)

  • Download Crew Member Training Standards (86 KB)

  • Download Safety Equipment (62 KB)

  • Download Burn Plan Elements (96 KB)

  • Download Burn Plan Form (180 KB)

  • Download Go-No-Go Checklist (119 KB)

More resources for planning and executing a prescribed burn are available on the Resources page.

For information on training courses for both NWCG and Wisconsin Prescribed Fire Council Participation Classification standards, visit the Training page.